Monday, July 30, 2012

Back To School: Umi Shoes Review and Giveaway


It's hard to believe that it is already time to get our children ready to return to school! Summer surely flew by for my family! My son will be starting Pre-K this year, so my husband and I are just beginning to get a taste of what "back to school" preparation is all about.

We have been shopping for clothes, shoes and school supplies for the past few weeks, trying to be as prepared as possible to start this new journey!

I was given the opportunity to review a pair of shoes from the new Fall line of Umi Shoes, which was super exciting! I chose the Tyler style in Navy for review.


I am extremely pleased with these shoes! Though my son has not started Pre-K yet, I did let him wear his new school shoes to dinner last weekend so that he could give me his opinion of them. He has other shoes by Umi, and they have always been favorite, and the Tyler's are no exception. My son can hardly wait to wear these shoes on his first day of Pre-K!

Cooper said these shoes are very comfortable and "fast", which is the greatest compliment my 4 year old can give a pair of shoes! I love these shoes because they are easy for my son to put on and take off himself, which is very important to him. They also appear to be very sturdy. Considering the life we have gotten out of other Umi shoes, I have no doubt that these shoes will last the entire Fall season, and then some!

Here is a little about the Tyler (from their website):
Tyler for big boys is king of the schoolyard. Crafted from manmade materials with a cool gradient of overlapping foxing and a sleek band of [suede?] at the toe and back, Tyler finds the perfect balance between smart and suave. Adjustable hook and loop closure.

I am extremely pleased with these shoes and would highly recommend them to anyone. If you are searching for the perfect pair of Back To School shoes, you can't go wrong with the huge selection at Umi Shoes!

One lucky winner will receive a $60 gift certificate to Umi Shoes!!

Enter using the Rafflecopter form below. Must be 18 or older to enter. Open to US and Canada. All entries will be verified so please be sure to enter your information correctly. Giveaway ends 8/13/12 at 11:59pm. Winner will have 48 hours to respond to the email that will be sent after giveaway ends. If the winner does not respond within 48 hours, the win will be forfeited and a new winner will be selected.


I did not receive compensation for this post. I did receive product(s) mentioned above to facilitate the review. All opinions are 100% mine.

Wish You Were Here Giveaway Hop!





Welcome to the Wish You Were Here Giveaway Hop! While thousands of bloggers head to New York City for a blogging conference, we thought it would be a great idea to kickoff a giveaway for our readers!  This event is hosted by BloggerPR and will run from July 30-August 6, 2012. Each giveaway prize is valued over $25.00, so you are bound to find something you love! Good luck and have fun!

Enter below for your chance to win $25 via PayPal from Opinions of a Moody Mama!!

Be sure to stop by each of the blogs in the linky below for more chances to win some amazing bloggers! 
Enter this giveaway using the Rafflecopter form below. Open Worldwide, ages 18+.



This prize is not sponsored and will be awarded to the winner by the host of this blog. Good Luck!!

Friday, July 27, 2012

GUND Top Dog Contest

For all of my readers who love their pets as much as I love mine...



I just heard about the GUND Top Dog Contest today! See details below:

Inspired by the wildly-popular "World's Cutest Dog" Boo stuffed dog from GUND, the “Top Dog” Contest invites pup parents from around the country to submit photos of their own four-footed friends on the GUND Facebook page in one or all of the following four categories:

·        Most Beautiful Dog
·        Ugliest Dog
·        “Doganista”/Best Dressed Dog
·        Dog that Most Resembles its Owner


The Grand Prize will have tails wagging; GUND will create a limited edition model of the winner’s dog. The dog will be available in gift and toy stores in 2013. That’s right! Your pup could become a GUND plush just like Boo!



You can submit your dog photos via the contest tab on GUND's Facebook pageThe contest will run July 16 - August 15, 2012; winners will be chosen the week of August 20th and announced the week of August 27th.
 
·         Entries: July 16 – August 5
·         Voting: August 6 – August 15

Simultaneously with the “Top Dog” Contest on Facebook,GUND will run the “Most Pinteresting Dog” Contest on Pinterest. Consumers will be asked to post their entry on their own pages, “tag” @GUNDMostPinterestingDog and submit the link to GUND at MostPinterestingDog@GUND.com. The “Most Pinteresting Dog” Contest winner will be selected based on the number of times the entry is “liked” on the GUND Pinterest board and the winner will receive a selection of GUND products valued at $250 retail.
For complete rules, see “Top Dog” Contest and “Most Pinteresting Dog” Contest rules at www.GUND.com.


I already entered my sweet Stella girl! Are you going to enter your pup? Let me know if you do so that I can check out your doggie pics! 


I did not receive compensation for this post. I will receive a product in exchange for posting. All opinions are 100% mine.

Monday, July 23, 2012

ONE Styling Products Review

I selected this post to be featured on Top Mommy Blogs. Please visit the site and vote for my blog!



ONE Styling has a wide variety of professional hair styling tools, including hair dryers and flat irons. I received the Epic Pro Blow Dryer, Crush 1" Flat Iron and Crush Mini Flat Iron for review. 



The Epic Pro Blow Dryer is one of the most powerful hair dryers available. It is ideal for every day use and is ergonomically designed for optimum balance and comfort. This hair dryer features the Ionic Intel system, which generates positive or negative ionic output suitable for multiple uses. It is lightweight and had variable speeds and temperatures to choose from. It also offers a "Cool Shot" button for style setting. 

I can not say enough great things about this hair dryer! I have always used cheap hair dryers that typically last less than a year. The first time I used the Epic Pro Blow Dryer, I was amazed. My hair looked a lot like it does when my hair stylist does my hair! Just by using this blow dryer, with no added products or tools, my hair had a great deal more volume and shine than with my old dryer. I have used this blow dryer every day, and it has cut my styling time in half. I love, love, love it! 

This blow dryer is perfect for any salon professional, or any person who wants salon quality hair at home. I for one will never purchase a cheap hair dryer again. The Epic brand has won me over completely, and I do not see myself ever choosing another brand of hair dryer to use ever again. Yes, I am truly THAT impressed!



The next products that I reviewed are the Crush 1" Flat Iron and the Crush Mini Flat Iron, both in the color "pucker". The Crush series of flat irons come in three cool colors that add a little oomph to your morning routine. These flat irons have a wide range of temperatures, which is ideal for all hair textures. The tourmaline technology provides maximum negative ionic output to lock in moisture and eliminate static and frizz. The floating beveled plates allow for optimum styling control. and the gentle infrared heat safely penetrates the hair follicle to minimize heat damage. 

I am also completely smitten with both of the Crush Flat Iron's that I received! I love the 1" flat iron for the back and sides of my hair, and the mini flat iron on my bangs, which I am currently trying to grow out. Sometimes my bangs, which are at an awkward, in-between stage, do not do what I want them to do. I try to flatten, they flip out, or vice versa! The mini flat iron is the perfect size to control my unruly bangs. 

Both of these flat irons are perfect for everyday use. I use them daily and have noticed a lot less damage to my hair compared to previous flat irons I have used. 

As I mentioned, I have used all three of these products on a daily basis, and I couldn't be more pleased with the outcome. My hair has never looked healthier! I receive compliments daily on my hair, which is not the norm for me as I am not a professional by any stretch of the word. 

I would highly recommend all three of these products without any hesitation. All of the products available at ONE styling are made for styling professionals, but can be used by every day consumers as well. The products at ONE can be a little more expensive than the ones you might find at your local drug store, but the difference in the condition and appearance of your hair while using these products completely makes up for the price difference in my opinion. Not to mention, these products are extremely well made and I feel sure that they will stand the test of time, and then some. 

Check out ONE Styling to see all of the products that they have available, and find the product that is perfect for you. If you are anything like me, you will never use a cheap styling tool again! 


I did not receive compensation for this post. I did receive product(s) mentioned above to facilitate the review. All opinions are 100% mine.



Wednesday, July 18, 2012

FREE Blogger Opp: Just for Mom Giveaway Event!


Bloggers: Don't miss this great FREE giveaway opportunity! Join us for the Just for Mom Giveaway Event that will be held August 3-13. 

Visit Boy Oh Boys now for more information and to sign up!

Monday, July 16, 2012

Small Concept Review and Giveaway


"The Small Concept mission is simple: to provide quality products and deliver only the best in customer service. We offer great brands like Tea Collection, Appaman, Deux Par Deux, Magnificent Baby, Wonder Boy, and much more. In addition, we recently introduced maternity wear to our collection-- specifically, Lilac Clothing and Olian Maternity."

I love finding companies that really care about their customers. To some you are just another number, but to others, you are much more than that. When I heard the background story for Small Concept, I knew they would be one of those companies who truly care about their customers.

Julie Campbell is the owner of Small Concept. Last year she made the decision to leave her job of 12 years to pursue her entrepreneurial dreams. Unfortunately, she also lost her husband of 30 years to a long battle with cancer during that time. This tragedy led Julie to understand the importance of pursuing a career path that you are passionate about -- which she did. Her passion in life is children - especially her own children and grandchildren. This is why she chose to devote her time to a business that revolves around her love for children.

I had a really tough time choosing which items to review from Small Concepts. They have so many adorable items to choose from! I finally decided on the Wes & Willy Mountaineer Shorts in black, the Tom And Drew "I Mean Business" t-shirt and the Appaman Flip Flops for my son.



My son totally loves the Tom And Drew "I Mean Business" t-shirt. The shirt has a bulldog on the front, which resembles our pet Valley Bulldog, Stella. He calls this his "Stella shirt" and asks to wear it all of the time. This shirt is well made, and perfectly matches my son's personality! This is the first Tom And Drew shirt that we have owned, but I can guarantee that it won't be the last!



The Wes & Willy Mountaineer shorts are also one of my son's favorite pieces of clothing. Cooper loves all of the cargo pockets - perfect for carrying all of his daily finds around with him. I love these shorts as well! They are longer than most shorts, which works well for Cooper because he is tall for his age.



Last but not least are the Appaman Flip Flops. These are the first pair of flip flops that Cooper has worn that did not have a strap on the back. It took him a few minutes to get used to wearing them, but after that, it has been hard to get him to take them off!

He wore this outfit on our beach trip a couple of weeks ago, and he looked absolutely adorable! I really love this entire outfit. I honestly can not find one thing about any of the items that I do not like.

I would highly recommend any items from Small Concept to anyone! The items available there are perfect for your own children or as gifts. They also have a cute maternity selection! You really should check them out!

One lucky winner will receive $50 store credit to Small Concept!!

Enter using the Rafflecopter form below. Must be 18 or older to enter. Open to US and Canada. All entries will be verified so please be sure to enter your information correctly. Giveaway ends 7/30/12 at 11:59pm. Winner will have 48 hours to respond to the email that will be sent after giveaway ends. If the winner does not respond within 48 hours, the win will be forfeited and a new winner will be selected.


I did not receive compensation for this post. I did receive product(s) mentioned above to facilitate the review. All opinions are 100% mine.

Big Event! BBQ or Amazon GC Giveaway!!


Big Event Fundraising has helped their customers increase school fundraising results by an average of 93%! Great fundraising ideas improve school fundraising sales by increasing student participation. Big Event's ideas for fundraising are different from any other fundraising company because their thrilling prize programs motivate more students to sell items from their fundraising brochure. Using innovative incentive ideas and an easy to reach fundraising goal, Big Event Fundraising helps schools have experience higher gross sales than with other fundraising companies.

We proudly welcome you to The Big Event! BBQ Giveaway sponsored by Big Event! Fundraising.

Hosted by Our Full House and Mom to Bed by 8


The winner of the Big Event! Fundraising BBQ Giveaway can select one of the following amazing prizes:


Grill up to 32 hamburgers simultaneously using the wide 520 sq. in. cooking area and array of tools at your disposal on this Char-Broil 4-Burner Liquid Propane Gas Grill. Its 12,000 BTU flush-mount side burner makes it a snap to prepare a side dish while you cook the main course, and a warming rack keeps completed entrees warm until you're ready to serve them. Keep your grill tools within easy reach thanks to the built-in storage rack, side shelf and 2 wrap-around stainless steel towel bars.

OR


$200 Amazon Gift Card!

 Thank you for visiting Opinions of a Moody Mama! Be sure to enter using the rafflecopter form below! Good luck!!


One lucky winner will receive their choice of a Char-Broil BBQ Grill or $200 Amazon Gift Card!

Giveaway ends July 30th at 11:59pm, open worldwide, ages 18+. To enter please use the Rafflecopter form below. Good luck!

Friday, July 13, 2012

Nutrition Snob Review and Giveaway


I really enjoy getting outside and exercising, but I hate not having the right clothes to wear while I am doing it. I always find myself in a baggy t-shirt and shorts when I go running, which is so uncomfortable. I find that I am always tugging or pulling at some part of the shirt because it has shifted around.

That's why I am super excited to tell you about this awesome Etsy shop that I found: Nutrition Snob. At Nutrition Snob, you can find all kinds of cute tops that are perfect for exercising. They have some really awesome sayings on them, too! You can find shirts with sayings to help motivate you, or just remind you how awesome you are! Some of my favorites are "strong is the new skinny" and "doubt your limits".

I chose the "I run like a girl, try and keep up" racer back tank in black with pink writing for review.

front

back

I can't explain just how much I love this tank! It is comfortable and soft and fits perfectly. The shirt says "I run like a girl" on the front and "try and keep up" on the back. It is so cute and sassy!

All of the tops at Nutrition Snob have a worn out appearance, which makes them even better. They look and feel like you are wearing your favorite shirt that you have had for year. No rough or itchy fabric here!

Running in this tank not only helps me keep cooler than when I run in regular t-shirts, I look better too! I have even gotten a couple of "Nice shirt!" comments from other runners or walkers that I pass along the way.

All of the tops are hand made by Suzanne, the Etsy shop owner. I have to say, it has been a true pleasure working with Suzanne. She is so friendly and easy to work with! That really stands out to me, because I have dealt with my share of company representatives who didn't appear to care about me as the consumer at all. Suzanne wants your shirt to be exactly what you wanted, and she goes above and beyond to make that happen. Kudos to Suzanne for excellent customer service!

You can buy your own top by Nutrition Snob by checking out her Etsy store.

One lucky reader will win the top of their choice from Nutrition Snob!

Enter using the Rafflecopter form below. Must be 18 or older to enter. Open to US only. All entries will be verified so please be sure to enter your information correctly. Giveaway ends 7/27/12 at 11:59pm. Winner will have 48 hours to respond to the email that will be sent after giveaway ends. If the winner does not respond within 48 hours, the win will be forfeited and a new winner will be selected.
I did not receive compensation for this post. I did receive product(s) mentioned above to facilitate the review. All opinions are 100% mine.

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Not On The High Street Review



Not On The High Street is a UK based website that puts a really cool twist on shopping for unique products and gifts. You will find products from over 3,000 creative small businesses all in one spot. How cool is that?

I was given the opportunity to review an item from Not On The High Street, and I chose the Tuscany Kaflan in turquoise.

The item arrived sooner than I expected, considering that it was being shipped from overseas. The product was wrapped beautifully in tissue paper with a cute bow. It was like receiving a gift in the mail! I was totally impressed. When I opened the wrapping, I was even more excited. The Tuscany Kaflan was absolutely gorgeous!



Here is a little about the Tuscany Kaflan (from their website):
Made By: StarBlu Luxury Resortwear
100% elegant cream cotton cover-up with beautiful embossed dot print and crochet detail at end of ties. Mid thigh length with side split and long sleeved for added protection against the sun. Perfect for putting over a swimsuit at the beach or pool!

I got the chance to wear this beautiful cover-up recently while vacationing at the beach. It fit perfectly and it is obvious that it is well made. The material is very pretty and soft. I loved wearing it while I sat by the pool, on the boat, and while walking on the beach. I received tons of compliments while I was wearing it!

Overall, I am extremely pleased with the Tuscany Kaflan that I received. I love the look and feel of this cover-up, and I would highly recommend this to any female who is looking for that perfect swim suit cover up. I know that I will get a lot of use out of this product, and I can't wait until the next time I head to the pool or beach so that I can wear it again!

Not On The High Street has literally thousands of unique products to choose from! From jewelry, to decor to bedding, you can find it all! I have found quite a few items that I am dying to own, and I haven't even made it through half of the products that they have available. I would highly recommend that anyone and everyone visit Not On The High Street and take a look around. I would be quite surprised if anyone could not find at least one item that they love!



I did not receive compensation for this post. I did receive product(s) mentioned above to facilitate the review. All opinions are 100% mine.

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

This Means War #Movie Quotes

I just finished watching a great movie: This Means War. Have you seen it? I loved it! I am a huge fan of Reece Witherspoon and Chelsea Handler so I knew I would be a fan from the moment I started watching. There were lots of hilarious and meaningful quotes in the movie, so I thought I would share a few of them here.


"I know he's fat and ridiculous. But his my fat. And my ridiculous. And I like the way that I am with him."

"Don't choose the better guy, choose the guy that's gonna make you the better girl."

"Mistakes make us who we are."

"Don't worry. If you're going to hell, I'll just come pick you up."

"Guys wanna know you're flexible and you're good in gymnastics?"


If you have seen This Means War, what was your favorite part? Do you have a favorite quote from the movie that I forgot to mention?




Umi's July Deal of the Month!

Don't miss the Deal of the Month for July at Umi! Get the adorable Halina's for half price! Visit Umi now to get this great deal!




I received no compensation for this post. Just passing along this great deal to my fabulous readers.

Monday, July 9, 2012

#Motivation

I have really been slacking in the fitness department lately. I also just got back from a week long vacation where I didn't make the best food choices. Yeah, it's a little depressing. It's not that I have forgotten the things that I need to do, or the goals that I set for myself; I have just gotten off track... So I hit the Internet in search of a little motivation. I found some awesome quotes that have re-kindled my need to get fit! I wanted to share them with you as well in case you might be in need of a little inspiration... and so that I can look back at these when I need a swift kick in the butt again!













Sunday, July 8, 2012

Nature's Hand Granola Review and Giveaway



"For the first time in the Company's 40-year history, Nature's American Co. is bringing something new to the table. While many granolas are loaded with preservatives, sugar, sodium or trans fats, Nature's Hand granola was created for health-conscious consumers who still love the taste of authentic granola, and uses only the world's finest ingredients."

My family and I have been trying to eat healthier this year, and ice cream has been one of hardest things to give up. We have bought fat free frozen yogurt from the grocery store, but it is somehow just not the same.

Once the temperature's here in NC reached 100 degrees a few weeks ago, my family stopped in at our local frozen yogurt establishment to cool off. That's where I realized what I was missing at home - toppings!

That same week I received samples of Nature's Hand granola and decided that the first place I wanted to try it was on my frozen yogurt at home. I received the Wild Blueberry and Cranberry Delight flavors to try. I added the Wild Blueberry granola to my frozen yogurt, and I loved it! I am not a huge fan of cranberry anything, but my husband likes it, so I assigned that flavor to my husband to try. He used it as a topping on his frozen yogurt and he noted that he liked the flavor the granola added to his dessert.



Nature's Hand has 6 great flavors of granola to try - French Vanilla Almond, Cranberry Delight, Wild Blueberry, Raisin Hazelnut, Cinnamon Apple, Maple Pecan. I definitely want to try the Maple Pecan and the French Vanilla Almond varieties, as I am a huge fan of pecans and almonds. Any of these would be delicious on frozen yogurt, as a cereal or added to yogurt. Nature's Hand also has a great selection of recipes to try! I can't wait to try the muffin recipe myself!

One lucky winner will receive 2 bags of Nature's Hand Granola!


Enter using the Rafflecopter form below. Must be 18 or older to enter. Open to US only. All entries will be verified so please be sure to enter your information correctly. Giveaway ends 7/22/12 at 11:59pm. Winner will have 48 hours to respond to the email that will be sent after giveaway ends. If the winner does not respond within 48 hours, the win will be forfeited and a new winner will be selected.

I did not receive compensation for this post. I did receive product(s) mentioned above to facilitate the review. All opinions are 100% mine.

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Patriotic Drink for the Whole Family!

Want a cool drink for the 4th of July that the whole family can enjoy? Try this yummy patriotic drink mix that is sure to impress everyone, young and old!



Ingredients:

Ice cubes
Cranberry juice
Gatorade Sports drink (blue)
Diet 7-Up


Directions:

Place the ice cubes in the bottom 3rd of a clear 12 ounce glass. Pour the cranberry juice in to fill the bottom 3rd.

Place a few more cubes in to the middle and pour in the blue Gatorade to fill the glass 2/3 full.

Place the final 3rd of ice in the glass. Pour in the diet 7-Up.

Garnish with a cherry if desired.
Enjoy!




(Recipe courtesy of Disney Family Fun website)

Sunday, July 1, 2012

The New iPad Giveaway!


Thanks for stopping by Opinions of a Moody Mama for your chance to win a new iPad! Good luck!

Mom to Bed by 8, the Iowa-Mom is proud to present the The New iPad Giveaway Event, sponsored by BeeSavy.

BeeSavy is the first website to combine comparison shopping with coupons, cash back discounts and referral cash back.

Compare prices on millions of products from hundreds of trusted online stores.


No matter where you shop or what you're buying, you'll save $:

I know what I want... but where should I buy it? Search for any product in BeeSavy's search engine. BeeSavy show you all the stores selling that product along with the total price at each of those stores. The total price includes the list price, tax and shipping costs, cash back discount, and coupon savings.
I already know where I'm shopping... how do I save $? Even for you brand-loyal shoppers, you can save money every time you shop at your favorite stores. Click the Shop By Store button in the top right to get started. First, check for coupons at your favorite store. Next, click through to your favorite store and make a purchase. When you shop online through BeeSavy, you will earn a cash back discount. Your cash back discount will post to your BeeSavy account within 1-4 days. BeeSavy will send you a check or deposit your cash back into your PayPal account once your balance reaches $10.
I don't know what I want... Now what? You can browse popular products by clicking the Shop by Category button in the top left. You will see the most popular products in hundreds of different categories.


Other BeeSavy benefits for online shoppers:

Trusted retailers only! Unlike other comparison shopping websites, BeeSavy carefully chooses each and every one of its stores to ensure a safe and secure shopping experience. If you ever have a bad experience with a BeeSavy store, please let them know right away.
Feeling generous? Donate your savings to a charity. When you request a cash back payment, BeeSavy gives you the option to donate a portion or all of your cash back to a charity. Just choose a charity and how much you want to donate and they'll take care of the rest!
Love BeeSavy? Tell your friends and get referral cash back forever. Tell a friend about BeeSavy and you will earn a 40% commission on all of their cash back forever. There is no limit to how many friends you can refer! They even pay you a 10% commission on all of their referrals up to seven levels deep! So this could add up quickly for those of you who like sharing a great deal with others.

BeeSavy benefits for online retailers:

It's a win-win-win. With most forms of marketing, online retailers must pay upfront with no guarantee of results; however, with cost-per-sale marketing, online retailers only pay BeeSavy when it generates a sale. Online retailers choose a commission rate that fits within their profit margin, thereby ensuring a positive return on their marketing dollars. By giving most of this commission to the purchasing customer as a cash back rebate, BeeSavy utilizes this online retailer marketing method to save its customers money that traditional comparison shopping websites cannot match (due to their cost-per-click revenue model).


One lucky winner will receive an iPad 3rd Generation, 16GB Unit from BeeSavy!