Friday, June 29, 2012

It's not the jump you have to worry about; it's the landing. #NaBloPoMo


Today's topic is: It's not the jump you have to worry about; it's the landing.

This really rings true for me today as today was my last day at my current job. I have taken a big leap and decided to leave the big, comfy healthcare system that I work for to take on a larger role within a privately owned clinic. I have been really nervous about leaving my comfort zone, and it was even harder than I thought saying goodbye to my co-workers and the physicians that I have grown to know and love. Now that the hard part is over, my things are packed away in a box and the difficult goodbyes have been said, I realize that these were all just necessary steps to move on to a new challenge and prove myself in a completely different environment.

Now that I have made the jump, it's time to focus on the landing, which truly is the most important part. Though the jump may be difficult, all that really matters in the end is how you handle yourself throughout the process that ultimately leads to the landing. Sometimes the landing is rough, and sometimes it is smooth and easy. Here's hoping my jump will lead to a smooth and easy landing in my new position!

What are your thoughts on the idea "It's not the jump you have to worry about; it's the landing"? Do you agree or disagree?

Tiny Prints Summer Party Invitations


It’s summertime again, and I couldn’t be more excited! The summer season tends to bring lots of fun social gatherings– from BBQ’s to baby showers!



For me personally this summer, I will be celebrating 3 family members’ birthdays and attending 2 baby showers. Then there are always the BBQ’s and cook out’s that get thrown in the mix as well.



We host our fair share of BBQ’s at our home each summer, so I am very excited about the cool new Summer Party Invitations at Tiny Prints! They have some really adorable invitations and I definitely plan to send these out when we host our next BBQ. I really love this one! Don’t you?



My hubby’s 30th birthday is one of the birthday’s that we will be celebrating this summer as well. Most years we don’t have a big party for our birthday, but I think a celebration is in order since he will be turning the big 3-0!



Do you have any big events to celebrate this summer? If so, remember to check out the great new collection of summer invitations available at Tiny Prints!



I did not receive compensation for this post. I will receive product(s) mentioned above to facilitate this post. All opinions are 100% mine.

Jumpin' Outta June $100 Amazon Gift Code Twitter Giveaway!




Welcome to the Jumpin’ Outta June Amazon Gift Code Twitter Giveaway hosted by MamaNYC!  Over 40 bloggers have joined together to celebrate the end of JUNE – and help kickstart one of YOUR summers with an awesome Amazon Gift Code giveaway! All you have to do is follow our Twitter accounts in order to gain entries in this giveaway! Sure, we also tossed in a few other options, but this giveaway is all about Twitter!
 
 
One lucky winner will receive a $100.00 Amazon Gift Code! This giveaway will run from June 29-July 15th, which should give you more than enough time to hop down the Rafflecopter and follow all of our Twitter accounts.  Open Worldwide; Winner will have 48 hours to confirm prize. If you see our event button - no need to enter again! We are all using the SAME Rafflecopter, so your entries are only needed on one of our blogs. Good Luck!

 
Enter using Rafflecopter form below. Open worldwide, must be 18 or older to enter. Winner will have 48 hours to confirm or their prize shall be forfeited to another winner. All entries are confirmed and validated.

Thursday, June 28, 2012

Sponsored Post: Get Ready for Summer with CoolSculpting and Let's Get Naked in LA Giveaway



Summertime is here and swimsuit season is in full swing. Many of us feel insecure in our swimsuits because of love handles and muffin tops that are nearly impossible to get rid of. There is an option for those of us who don't want to undergo surgery, but don't want to live with these body imperfections. It's called CoolSculpting.

CoolSculpting literally freezes fat cells without using any knives or needles, and leaving no scars. It is FDA approved and it only takes one hour per treatment. You can literally get this done on your lunch break! To get more information on CoolSculpting and to find a location near you, click here.

For those of you residing in the Charlotte, NC area, click here for a list of Charlotte doctors.

Still not sure if CoolSculpting is right for you? Check out the video below for more info:


Visit CoolSculpting on Facebook for your chance to win their Let's Get Naked in LA Sweepstakes!


I know I would love to get rid of my love handles and belly pooch. What would you like to get rid of to help boost your self-confidence for swimsuit season?



This is a sponsored post. I will receive comensation in return for sharing my honest opinions on Coolsculpting here with you. All opinions are 100% mine and were in no way influenced by the sponsor.



PB Crave Review & Giveaway

I’m not sure if I have ever mentioned this or not, but I am a huge fan of peanut butter. I eat peanut butter on lots of different things. Some thing that would possibly make others think I am strange, so I won’t go into detail there.

When I first read about PB Crave, I had to learn more about it. PB Crave is peanut butter with a twist! It was created by a guy named Curt Riess, who was raised eating traditional peanut butter and {gasp} hated it! He changed his tune when he started mixing different flavors with peanut butter and realized that he actually liked it!

There are 4 flavors of PB Crave: Choco Choco, Razzle Dazzle, Coco Bananas and Cookie Nookie.
My personal favorite is the Choco Choco flavor, which is a double dose of semi-sweet and rich dark chocolate with premium peanut butter and wild honey. Delicious!

My son enjoyed all of the flavors, but when I asked his favorite, he told me that he liked Cookie Nookie the most. Cookie Nookie is a mouth-watering mix of chocolate chips, cookie dough flavor, wild honey and premium peanut butter.

I also really love the Coco Bananas and Razzle Dazzle flavors as well. The Coco Bananas is a tropical blend of yummy bananas, cocoa and wild honey and peanut butter. One of my favorite things growing up was a peanut butter and banana sandwich, so this flavor makes me think of those yummy sandwiches, even when I don’t have fresh bananas at home!

The Razzle Dazzle flavor is a twisted blend of peanut butter, red raspberry, wild honey, cool white chocolate and rich dreamy dark chocolate. This flavor was my husband’s favorite by far. He says that it is so much better than a regular old peanut butter and jelly sandwich because of the yummy chocolate flavors in the mix.

I can’t find anything negative to mention about PB Crave. All of the flavors were delicious and my family and I thoroughly enjoyed them. I would highly recommend PB Crave to anyone!
One lucky reader will win a PB Crave Coco Banana Variety Pack (pictured above)!


Enter using the Rafflecopter form below. Must be 18 or older to enter. Open to US (lower 48 only). All entries will be verified so please be sure to enter your information correctly. Giveaway ends 7/12/12 at 11:59pm. Winner will have 48 hours to respond to the email that will be sent after giveaway ends. If the winner does not respond within 48 hours, the win will be forfeited and a new winner will be selected.


I did not receive compensation for this post. I did receive product(s) mentioned above to facilitate the review. All opinions are 100% mine.

My Blogger Style #BloPoMo



The question for today is: How do you jump into starting a new blog post?

I know in school that we were all taught the "proper" steps for writing. You know... brainstorming, rough draft, editing, revisions and all that jazz. Well, I did all of that back when I had to for school, but I definitely do NOT follow those guidelines when blogging.

For me, blogging is an outlet. Basically a place I can openly share what's on my mind. If I followed all of the proper steps, I would never finish a post! When a blog topic comes to mind, or even when it's time to write a review post that I have researched for and truly put a lot of thought behind, I type as the thoughts come to me and typically don't look back - except to check for spelling or grammatical errors. I feel like constantly revising my work causes me to doubt myself and I end up changing things around, and by the time I am finished, the original point that I was trying to get across is lost.

When an idea for a blog post comes to me, I sit down and write it. I guess you could call all of my posts "rough drafts" because they are all the honest post that I originally sat down to write at the time. The most important thing to me is that my posts come across to my readers as honest and helpful. 

If you are a blogger, how do you jump into writing a new blog post? If you are not a blogger, what do you look for in a blog post that will make you come back and visit again and again?

 

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Wait... What was I just talking about?? #NaBloPoMo


If you are anything like me, your thoughts jump around from one topic to the next without warning. I get pretty annoyed with the fact that my thoughts can derail so quickly and by the time I realize that I have jumped to another subject, I have already forgotten what I was originally thinking. I have been this way all my life, and I have taken medication to try and help with this since I was in college for ADHD. I feel like ADHD medication is being overused these days, but for me personally, I think it is helpful and does help me focus enough to get my work done.

Some days I get so frustrated and I wish I could be like others whose thoughts seem to easily glide from one to the next without a hitch. Most days, though, I am just thankful that I have so many thoughts that I have trouble keeping up with them! My friends often tell me that they never know what I am going to say next, and I think I like that! I like to keep people on their toes!

Do your thoughts jump around or glide?

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Summer Time! #NaBloPoMo



We are only officially a few days into summer, and it's already shaping up to be an exciting one!

 I have decided to take a big leap and leave the company that I have been working with for quite a while to move to an a completely different specialty office. I have spent the last few years doing medical billing and coding for Internal Medicine, Hematology, Oncology and Dermatology. My new position will be with an Ophthalmology office, so this is going to a big change for me. I am very excited about it, though, because I get to learn an entirely new field, which I love to do. I'm all about a new challenge! I start that new journey right after the July 4th holiday, so wish me luck!

I am even more excited about our trip to the beach that we have planned next month. I desperately need a few relaxing days with my toes in the sand! I can't wait to jump in to the pool, read a book on the beach, and spend some quality time with my family.

What is something you are excited for this summer ?

Monday, June 25, 2012

Bungee Jumping? #NaBloPoMo



The question of the day is: Would you ever go bungee jumping?

That’s an easy one for me. No way!!

I am scared of heights so just the thought of bungee jumping makes me nauseated. I will leave that to the dare devils of the world. I for one like to have my feet planted firmly on the ground, thankyouverymuch.


How about you: Would you ever go bungee jumping?

Sunday, June 24, 2012

Summer Sizzle Giveaway Hop! Win a $50 Essential Swimwear GC! #SummerSizzle



Welcome to the Summer Sizzle Giveaway Hop hosted by Mom With a Dot Com! Over 65 bloggers have got together to give you a chance to win some amazing prizes to keep you entertained throughout your summer!

Summer Sizzle will begin on June 24 and end on June 30. As you are hopping around, I hope you will find some prizes that you love - maybe you will even win one! Each giveaway will have a prize valued at $25 or more!




Here at Opinions of a Moody Mama, one lucky winner will receive a $50 gift certificate to Essential Swimwear! Check out my review of my new swim suit  from Essential Swimwear! I love mine, and I know that you will love yours as well! Enter using the Rafflecopter form below (under giveaway linkys) for your chance to have the cutest swim suit on the beach this year!

 Enter using the Rafflecopter form below (located below linky form).  Must be 18 or older to enter. Open to US and Canada. All entries will be verified so please be sure to enter your information correctly. Giveaway ends 6/30/12 at 11:59pm. Winner will have 48 hours to respond to the email that will be sent after giveaway ends. If the winner does not respond within 48 hours, the win will be forfeited and a new winner will be selected.

I did not receive compensation for this post. I did receive product(s) mentioned in above review link to facilitate the review. All opinions are 100% mine.

Friday, June 22, 2012

Essential Swimwear Review and Coupon Code



I don't know about you, but I have the hardest time finding a swim suit that I like that actually fits well. When 2 piece sets are sold together, I always find that one of the pieces fits all wrong. Something is always too loose or too snug, but when you have to buy the set together, you have to take what you get.

That's not the case at Essential Swimwear! You are able to choose from tons of cute tops and bottoms so that you can mix and match and buy the size that you need in the top and bottom pieces separately for the best fit. Just because you might be a size medium in the top, doesn't always mean that is the size you will need for the bottoms, which is why Essential Swimwear is my favorite place to shop for swimwear. They also have lots of one piece suits available if that is the style that you prefer.

I chose the Black Stripes Halter Top and the Black Metallic Board Shorts for review.



I absolutely love this set! My family spends as much time as possible on the beach during the summer, and I always find myself wearing my swim suit with shorts on top because I am usually running around the beach playing with my little guy, and I feel more comfortable with a little more coverage on my backside while I am bending down building sand castles. The Black Metallic Board Shorts are the perfect remedy for my dilemma. I can wear the board shorts and still have the coverage that I need without adding layers of clothing. They fit perfectly and I don't have to worry about them riding up or showing off more than I care to share.

The Black Stripes Halter Top is just as fabulous! The halter top is perfect for ladies with a little more up top to help keep everything where it is supposed to be. The striped design is very flattering, and fits just right. I have never really been comfortable just walking around in a swim suit, but this set is different. I feel like I have the right amount of coverage and I wore it for an entire day on the beach without feeling uncomfortable at all. It didn't hurt that I received multiple compliments on the set while I was wearing it!

Another great thing about Essential Swimwear is that they are extremely affordable. You can purchase the top and bottoms that you want for less than the cost of a 2 piece set at a department store. Their products are made well and I feel sure that they will last a very long time.

I am extremely pleased with the items that I received from Essential Swimwear. I would highly recommend that you check them out and see just what I am talking about for yourself! Once you pick out your favorite set, be sure to use the coupon code MOODYMAMA10 for 10% off your entire purchase! This discount code is valid through July 7, 2012. 

Also, be on the lookout for a great giveaway coming very soon here at Opinions of a Moody Mama... One lucky reader will win a $50 gift certificate to Essential Swimwear! I'll give you a hint... It will start sometime this weekend!


I did not receive compensation for this post. I did receive product(s) mentioned above to facilitate the review. All opinions are 100% mine.

Scary Movies #NaBloPoMo



I am not really a huge fan of scary movies. I liked them when I was younger, but not so much anymore. These days when my hubby and I sit down to watch a scary movie, I always end up getting up to wash dishes or do the laundry during the scary scenes. I guess it's a good way to keep my house clean, but I would prefer to be motivated to do the household chores in other ways!

I tend to stick to comedies or dramas when I choose movies to watch. I like a good story line, a good laugh, and sometimes even a good cry when I watch a movie. I prefer not to watch things that make me jumpy or afraid. I like to sleep peacefully at night and not have nightmares about the crazy things that jump out at you in scary movies.

What about you? Do you like watching scary movies?

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Interesting Idioms #NaBloPoMo



An idiom is is an expression, word, or phrase that has a figurative meaning that is comprehended in regard to a common use of that expression that is separate from the literal meaning or definition of the words of which it is made.

There are lots of funny idioms used these days. I know I personally use them quite frequently and never really think about the fact that I am using one! Some of the things I find myself saying are:

"I nearly jumped out of my skin!"

"That would be a piece of cake."

"That's not my cup of tea."

"That is all Greek to me."

"Don't be a backseat driver."

"Stuck between a rock and a hard place."

"I packed everything but the kitchen sink."

I could keep going and going! It's funny to think that these phrases actually make no sense at all when you think about them literally, yet most anyone you say them to know exactly what you mean!

Do you use idioms? Tell me some of the things you say... I might find a few new phrases to add to my list!


Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Diana's Bananas Review


My family loves bananas. We also love chocolate. Somehow, throughout our entire lives, no one in my home had never heard of frozen chocolate bananas. I know, crazy, right?

When I was offered the opportunity to review Diana's Bananas, I could not wait! I received samples of the milk chocolate and dark chocolate Banana Babies to try. They came packaged neatly in dry ice and were perfectly frozen when they arrived.

I hid them in the freezer and saved them for a surprise dessert for my family that night. I couldn't wait to break out my surprise when dinner was finished. My husband and son were totally impressed! My husband has been on a diet lately, so as much as he wanted to try it, he told me he couldn't. I brought out the box and showed him that the frozen chocolate bananas are only 130 calories each! He was so excited to actually get to eat something that he considers a "treat" without cheating on his diet.



As for me, I honestly can't express to you how much I love Diana's Bananas. It's THAT serious. I am a choc-o-holic, but after gastric bypass surgery, chocolate can make me to get sick and feel really terrible. I ate half of my first one fearing the worst. They really tasted good, but I was so afraid of getting sick. The chocolate covered bananas had just enough chocolate to add that little flavor that I have missed so much. The banana inside was absolutely amazing. All I could think was, why have I never had a frozen banana before??

I love the fact that I can give my family a healthy treat that they truly enjoy. I used the store locator on their website to locate stores that carried Diana's Bananas around me, and I was thrilled to find that there are quite a few! I really would like to try the Milk Chocolate and Peanut option, so I have added that to my shopping list for this weekend.

I would highly recommend Diana's Bananas to anyone. They are a delicious, healthy snack option that is perfect for anyone. They are also gluten-free, which is great! Visit www.dianasbananas.com to order online or find a store near you!


I did not receive compensation for this post. I did receive product(s) mentioned above to facilitate the review. All opinions are 100% mine.

Zooguu Review and Giveaway



My son absolutely loves stuffed toys. He sleeps with at least one every night. Picking out his stuffed toy is actually a part of our bedtime routine each night.

When I was offered the chance to review an item from Zooguu, I knew Cooper would be stoked. I let him surf the website, and he was so excited to see such a wide variety of stuffed animals to choose from. His favorite animal is a penguin, and as soon as he saw the Zooguu penguin, his heart was set.

What is Zooguu? It's a really cool website that offers plush toys that are handmade just for you. Literally. Picking out your favorite stuffed animal (or monster) is only the first step. Before checking out, you get to choose the size, your child's age range (which will determine if the stuffed toy will have plastic eyes, as this could be a choking hazard for kids under 3), and colors.



For Cooper's penguin, who is affectionately referred to as Sammy, we chose the medium size. It is the perfect size for nighttime cuddling and daytime play. I let Cooper choose the colors, and he picked cyan blue body and forest green feet. I didn't think I would like those colors together, but it would be his penguin, so I went with it. When it arrived, I loved it! It might not be your typical penguin colors, but it fits my son perfectly.

There is something special about handmade toys, especially ones that allow you and your child to put your creativity to work while choosing your new plush toy. Zooguu makes ordering easy with a vivid color chart on each page, so there is no clicking back and forth to order. Everything you need is on one page.

I was super thrilled at how easy it was to navigate the website. The hardest part was choosing the toy! The finished product was amazing as well. The product is well made and holds up well, even with the rough and tumble play that a four year old boy can dish out. I also love that these plush toys are machine washable. Just place inside a pillow case or delicates bag and throw it in the wash. That's a huge plus for this Mama!

I think any Zooguu creation would be a great addition to any home, and would make a great gift item as well.

One lucky winner will receive a medium size Zooguu plush toy of their choice (ARV: $40)!

Enter using the Rafflecopter form below. Must be 18 or older to enter. Open to US and Canada. All entries will be verified so please be sure to enter your information correctly. Giveaway ends 7/5/12 at 11:59pm. Winner will have 48 hours to respond to the email that will be sent after giveaway ends. If the winner does not respond within 48 hours, the win will be forfeited and a new winner will be selected.

I did not receive compensation for this post. I did receive product(s) mentioned above to facilitate the review. All opinions are 100% mine.

Just Breathe... #NaBloPoMo



There are many ways to cope with being nervous. I have tried quite a few of them! There are lots of little pills you can take to calm your nerves, though this doesn't seem to be the best technique for me.

Through the years I have found that calmly counting to ten or just focusing on breathing is the best way for me to cope with being nervous. I just close my eyes and breathe in... and breathe out...

Somehow, above all things, just calmly breathing is the best way for me to deal with situations that have me on the edge.

What do you do to cope when you're nervous?

Zaggora Hot Pants Review



You all know by now that I have been focusing on fitness for the past few months. I had to stop running due to a condition with my hip that my doctors are still working to properly diagnose. In the meantime, I have been doing yoga and using a trampoline to get my workout in. Recently I have plateaued in the weight loss department even though my workout hasn't really changed.

I was asked to review the Viva Hot Pants by Zaggora, which are shorts/capri pants that were designed to help you lose inches when you wear them while working out. Here is a little about the Hot Pants (from their website):

"Tested at the Chelsea School at Brighton University, HotPants are proven to use your body heat to increase energy expenditure before and after exercise by raising your core body temperature by up to 18%. Since your heating up, your body uses more energy which means its also burning more calories. Actually, calorie burn increases by 26% in the hour after exercise with Hotpants too. As well all know, as you burn calories, you lose weight.
In the University laboratory tests, in just 30 minutes of exercise, women lost 4x more weight with HotPants than doing the same exercise in normal work out clothes."
Zaggora asked me to participate in a 2 week challenge which simply involves wearing the Hot Pants while I exercise. I was happy to oblige. I wore the Hot Pants 3-4 times each week for approximately an hour while I did my workout for the day.
The very first day, I was quite surprised at the difference they made in the amount of sweating I did while working out. I was literally drenched in sweat within a few minutes. Every day to follow had the same results. I was sweating like a beast every time I wore them. I couldn't wait to see if I would show any results by the end of my 2 week challenge.
I want to mention that Hot Pants are actually quite comfortable as well. I honestly prefer them to regular gym shorts because they are fitted so I didn't have to deal with my pants riding up or twisting around while I exercised.
I wish that I could report the amount of inches that I may have lost during this two week period, but I forgot to measure myself before starting! I did weigh myself though, and I am happy to report that I have lost 1.5 lbs.  since I started the challenge! Woohoo!
Let me finish by saying that Hot Pants are not a miracle worker, nor do they claim to be. You do have to actually work out to see results. I don't think I would have seen the same results if I were wearing them while sitting on the couch watching TV. Just like any other weight loss plan, you have to actually diet and exercise to lose weight.
I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking to add a little extra oomph to their workout and who isn't afraid of a little (okay, a lot!) of sweat. When used as they are intended, I think you will see great results just as I did!
BUY IT! You can purchase your own Hot Pants at www.zaggora.com.
I did not receive compensation for this post. I did receive product(s) mentioned above to facilitate the review. All opinions are 100% mine.

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

What makes you nervous? #NaBloPoMo



Flying in an airplane makes me extremely nervous. Just the thought of being miles above the earth is enough to make me cringe. Then add in the fact that I know nothing about airplanes or how to fly them throws in the aspect of having absolutely no control over the situation which makes me feel even worse.

I have flown a handful of times, and it does seem to get a little easier each time. Even still, just the thought of being in an airplane makes me nervous.

What makes you nervous?

Monday, June 18, 2012

Lions and Tigers and Bears, Oh My! #NaBloPoMo


Lions, tigers and bears are typically very scary animals, but they don't hold a candle to my biggest fear - snakes! You see, you typically don't just happen upon a lion or tiger in my neck of the woods. A bear could be a possibility, but it's not likely. A snake however is a sneaky little turd that slithers around all full of poison and is camouflaged by grass and dirt. You could just be walking through your own backyard and walk right up to one!

Copperhead snakes are prominent in my area, and they are the reason that you will find me looking at the ground as I walk outside during any month that the ground isn't frozen. I make my husband check the entire backyard and all of the outdoor toys before my son is allowed to go out and play. I know that might be extreme, but you never can be too careful.

I wish that I could say that I don't have a problem with black snakes because they are the "good guys" of the snake family, but that would be a lie. I try to remember that they eat copperheads as well as rats, and other rodents which is a good thing when you live in the country. I really try, but I still don't like them.

I am sure that some snake lovers would be quite disappointed in me if they found out that I bludgeoned a baby snake to death with a plastic sand shovel last summer in my driveway, but I did. Cold, hard facts, folks. Baby snakes grow into big snakes.

My biggest snake fear actually came true late last year when my husband noticed a snake slithering through the kitchen. I was ready to MOVE. Right then. Burn the house down and start fresh. My husband actually mentioned spending the night in a hotel while an exterminator came over and made sure none of his little snake friends came inside with him. Which was completely shocking coming from my husband, who fears nothing (according to him). Standing on the couch, watching him jump around the kitchen like a ballerina while he killed the snake with a butcher knife was terrifying to me (though it is funny to picture now). I can only hope and pray that this never happens to me again!

Which animals make you jumpy and nervous?

Mommy Bus Winner!

The winner of the Mommy Bus Giveaway is...


AmberFaith said... 6 I follow you on Twitter


Congrats to the winner and a huge thanks to the sponsor!! The winner was chosen via random.org, has been contacted via email and has 48 hours to reply. Thanks so much to all who entered!

PeaceLoveMom Review & Giveaway


"PeaceLoveMom is made up of a team of Moms with one common goal – to create “a celebration of motherhood” for all types of mothers. PeaceLoveMom, a lifestyle brand company was designed to share life’s many moments of motherhood. Established in 2006, the PeaceLoveMom team of ladies brings variant backgrounds, perspectives, and creativity to the table. Although the day-to-day business tasks are split, every PeaceLoveMom in our company possesses the same passion for motherhood and their new found careers. Creating designs that will both inspire and empower mothers everywhere, PeaceLoveMom represents a collaboration and true celebration of motherhood."


There is nothing more special to me than being a Mom. I love being a Mom and I love celebrating motherhood in as many ways as possible. That's why I am super excited to tell you about an awesome company that I found : PeaceLoveMom.

At PeaceLoveMom, you can find tons of unique clothing for Moms, as well as for kids. You can also find lots of really cool accessories and gifts. I received the "Inspired" Burn Out Tee in honeysuckle for review.



This shirt has quickly become one of my favorites. It is very soft and fits well. It is has a vintage worn-in feel and the design is very trendy. I just love it! I think any of the items at PeaceLoveMom would make a great gift for any Mom, or even for yourself!


These shirts would make a perfect addition to any wardrobe, and they have numerous styles and designs to choose from, so there is sure to be something perfect for everyone!


One lucky reader will win their own PeaceLoveMom tee!


  Enter using the Rafflecopter form below. Must be 18 or older to enter. Open to US residents. All entries will be verified so please be sure to enter your information correctly. Giveaway ends 7/2/12 at 11:59pm. Winner will have 48 hours to respond to the email that will be sent after giveaway ends. If the winner does not respond within 48 hours, the win will be forfeited and a new winner will be selected




I did not receive compensation for this post. I did receive product(s) mentioned above to facilitate the review. All opinions are 100% mine.

Summer Patio Retreat Giveaway!!

Welcome to the Summer Patio Retreat Giveaway Event brought to you by Mom to Bed by 8 the ‘Iowa-Mom’, Powered By Mom and Mommy and Baby Reviews and Giveaways!

We would like to thank our special co-hosts Another Cent Saved, Giveaway Bandit, To Sew With Love and Opinions of a Moody Mama for joining us for this special event.

It's the perfect time of year for spending time with family and friends out on the patio. The only thing that could make it even better is winning this giveaway and showing off your gorgeous new patio furniture at every BBQ and cook out that you host!

Strathwood Brentwood 4-Piece Outdoor Furniture Set

Gather friends, family, and refreshments and a enjoy a little patio retreat fully furnished with this four-piece set from Strathwood. The Brentwood collection includes two arm chairs, a coffee table, and a loveseat. Designed to withstand the elements, the furniture's frames are constructed of powder-coated steel in an attractive black with bronze flecks. Powder coating gives the furniture great protection against rust. Comfortable, durable seat cushions are upholstered in a polyester fabric designed for outdoors.

Cushion Care and Cleaning: Gently brush off dirt before it becomes embedded in the fabric and wipe up any spills as soon as they occur. Gently spot clean only with mild soap and cool water using a sponge or soft brush, then air dry cushions in a sunny location. Bring cushions indoors during inclement weather and store in a dry place when not in use.

Strathwood furniture has quality, ease of use, and casual elegance at its core. Each piece is rigorously tested for durability, and assembly instructions have been standardized for simplicity from start to finish. Strathwood furniture is sleekly designed, handsomely finished, and built to last. This classic style and reliable craftsmanship will weather ever-changing trends and regular use for years to come.

Friday, June 15, 2012

Candle Warmers Winner!

The winner of the Candle Warmers giveaway is...

Cynthia Wsaid... 91 I follow Candle Warmers on Twitter


Congrats to the winner and a huge thanks to the sponsor!! The winner was chosen via random.org, has been contacted via email and has 48 hours to reply. Thanks so much to all who entered!

Is your glass half full or half empty? #NaBloPoMo

My view of the proverbial glass varies from day to day. Most days, I am a glass half full kind of girl. There are some days when I see it half empty, though. On those days, I just try to remember all of the things that I have to be thankful for!

As for today... It's Friday and I am looking forward to a fun filled weekend with my family. My glass is definitely half full today!

How about you? Is your glass half full or half empty?

Thursday, June 14, 2012

Movie Time with Dad for Father's Day

One of my hubby's favorite things to do is watch movies together as a family. For Father's Day this year, I thought it would be fun to have dinner at home, then pop some popcorn and watch a movie.  I thought it might to fun to watch a movie about Dads; good bad, or somewhere in between. Here are a few I came up with...










Can you think of any other movies that would be perfect for Father's Day? Tell me about them!

My Favorite Foods #NaBloPoMo

I wish that I could tell you that my favorite foods were carrots and celery, considering that I am trying so hard to eat healthy these days. That would just be a big fat lie, though. Though most days I try to make smart food choices, I do treat myself from time to time.

Truth be told, my favorite foods are sweet potato fries (technically I think these might not be that bad for you) ...

Photo Credit: southernyankeemix.com


Cheese Sticks from Pizza Hut...

Photo Credit: pizzahut.com


And though it is not technically a food, Mountain Dew.



There, now you all know my sinful favorite foods. I would hang my head in shame, but then I wouldn't be able to find the Pizza Hut delivery menu...

I kid, I kid.

What are some of your favorite foods?

Pedi-Sox Winners!

The winners of the Pedi-Sox giveaway are...

ferrizsaid... 160 twitter you @xferriza2

bbrittbrat1398said... 223 opinions of a moody mama fb fan

Olivia Rsaid... 110 i voted on the fence

Penny B Wsaid... 11 I like you on FB as Penny...

Hoasaid... 150 Liked Opinions of a Moody Mama on Facebook


Congrats to the winners and a huge thanks to our awesome sponsor! The winners were chosen via random.org, have been contacted via email and have 48 hours to reply. Thanks so much to all who entered!

Coach Purse and Wallet Giveaway!!


Welcome to the Coach Purse and Wallet Giveaway! Enter using the Rafflecopter form below for your chance to win this gorgeous set! Good Luck!

Purse Info:
Coach $348 SOHO LEATHER FLAP Silver-Bronze Purse Bag F17217
Wallet SOHO F45622
**Powered by Madame Deals and Slop Swap**


This giveaway will run from 6/14 12:01 am EST thru 6/30 11:59 pm EST

If you've entered any of our other Madamde Deals Events, this will be easy for you.
There is 1 mandatory entry of a blog comment plus Facebook likes for bonus entries.
Wait for the Rafflecopter to load and enter below:

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

What makes your heart leap? #NaBloPoMo

There are two different ways to interpret this question - positively or negatively.



When I think of the positive aspect, I immediately think of family. Nothing is more important to me than my family - especially my son. Every time he accomplishes something new, my heart leaps! Hearing good news always makes my heart leap as well. I love hearing about positive things from anyone!

As for the negative aspect, seeing a snake or a big, nasty spider makes my heart leap for sure! Hearing my son cry out in pain also make my heart jump into my throat. I think the worst feeling in the world might be the sound of my son's sobbing because I know something has really hurt or upset him.

I hope that my life is full of many more positive leaps than negative, and I hope that yours is as well!

What makes your heart leap?

Vitalicious Winner!

The winner of the Vitalicious giveaway is...

Victoria R.said... 294 Follow Vitalicious on Twitter!


Congrats to the winner and a huge thanks to the sponsor!! The winner was chosen via random.org, has been contacted via email and has 48 hours to reply. Thanks so much to all who entered!

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Where is your favorite place to be? #NaBloPoMo

I have a lot of "favorite places" depending on the situation. First and foremost, my favorite place to be is with my family and friends, wherever that may be!



Outside of that, my favorite place to be is on a beach. I love the sound of the waves crashing, and the feel of the ocean breeze. There is something special about lounging on the beach, reading a book or building a sand castle with my son.



A very close second favorite to the beach would be Disney World! We have only been once, which was earlier this year, and my husband, son and I are already counting down the days until we can go back again. I know it sounds cliche, but Disney really is a magical place. There is no other place in the world where you can experience such a wide variety of entertainment and things to do. We spent a week there and every day was completely different from the others. We went to all of the different parks, tried tons of different foods, and rode as many rides as we could. Even at 30 years old, I can honestly say hands down, our trip to Disney was the most fun I have ever had in my life. I felt like a kid again, and it was so special to see the pure joy on my son's face every day. Just thinking about it makes me even more excited about planning our next trip!

Where is your favorite place to be?

Somersault Snack Co. Review and Giveaway


I am constantly in search of healthy snacks. Something that tastes good, is convenient, and provides nutritional value for my family. That’s why I am super excited to tell you about a company that I recently found – Somersault Snack Co.

“Somersaults are the result of our quest to create healthy, tasty snacks for people who want more than just empty nutrition. What followed was a philosophy and lifestyle that adds joy and delicious goodness to your everyday life. We invite you to share in the unexpected pleasures that Somersaults offer, with crunch, zing and a little zest for adventure!”

I was lucky enough to get to try all of the flavors of Somersault Snacks, which includes cinnamon crunch, salty pepper, pacific sea salt, dutch coca, and santa fe salsa.

Sunflower seeds are the inspiration behind these scrumptious little nuggets, and are their #1 ingredient. These treats have as much protein as almonds with just half of the fat. They are also a good source of fiber and vitamin E. Somersault Snacks are nut free and only 150 calories per serving (which is 14 pieces or about one snack size bag).

Did you know that sunflower seeds offer 17% of the recommended daily allowance of folate in a 1 oz. serving? This essential nutrient is necessary for the production and maintenance of new cells and is especially important during pregnancy. They also have as much potassium as almonds, offering about 200mg of potassium per 1 oz. serving, playing an important role in decreasing blood pressure and establishing proper nerve function and muscle control. I had no idea these little seeds were so good for me!

I could go on and on about the nutritional value of Somersault Snacks, but you can always visit their www.somersaultsnackco.com for tons of useful information! Let me tell you what you really want to know… Do they actually TASTE good?

YES!! I will be completely honest and say that I was a little weary to try these snacks. Based on all of the great nutritional factors, I desperately wanted them to be yummy, but I just wasn’t very confident. My husband refused to try them first because he said they would be “gross”. So I opened the first pack of cinnamon crunch and gave them a try. I loved them. They had tons of flavor, and just the right amount of crunchiness. I would definitely say the cinnamon crunch was my favorite flavor, with the dutch cocoa coming in a close second. I preferred the sweeter flavors because I considered these my “sweet treats” in the afternoon when I tend to have a craving for something really sugary and sweet to help keep me going through the end of the work day. I liked the other flavors as well, especially the pacific sea salt. The santa fe salsa has a zing to it, and it was actually a little spicy for my taste (which is 0… I don’t really like spicy thing at all). My husband liked these the most when he finally came around to giving them a try.

I would highly recommend Somersault Snacks to anyone. They are delicious and good for you. What more could you want?

You can buy your own Somersault Snacks at www.somersaultsnackco.com . Be sure to enter promo code “happysnack” for 20% off your first online purchase!

One lucky winner will receive a Mixed Sample Pack from Somersault Snack Co!
Enter using the Rafflecopter form below.
Must be 18 or older to enter. Open to US residents. All entries will be verified so please be sure to enter your information correctly. Giveaway ends 6/26/12 at 11:59pm. Winner will have 48 hours to respond to the email that will be sent  after giveaway ends. If the winner does not respond within 48 hours, the win will be forfeited and a new winner will be selected.


I did not receive compensation for this post. I did receive product(s) mentioned above to facilitate the review. All opinions are 100% mine.